heypaster.blogg.se

How to start disk utility on mac from terminal
How to start disk utility on mac from terminal







how to start disk utility on mac from terminal how to start disk utility on mac from terminal
  1. #HOW TO START DISK UTILITY ON MAC FROM TERMINAL MAC OS X#
  2. #HOW TO START DISK UTILITY ON MAC FROM TERMINAL MAC OS#

I already have a boot image on my USB drive. This directory is located one step away from the root of the Mac. All of the disks that are attached to the Mac are located within the Volumes directory in Terminal. I would like to clean install OS X lion again. If you arent at least a bit comfortable in Terminal, you may want to stick to the graphical user interface applications like Disk Utility. Select Install OS X and click on the Continue button. Quit Disk Utility and return to the Utility Menu.

#HOW TO START DISK UTILITY ON MAC FROM TERMINAL MAC OS#

Set the Format type to Mac OS Extended (Journaled.) Click on the Apply button, then wait for the Done button to activate and click on it.

#HOW TO START DISK UTILITY ON MAC FROM TERMINAL MAC OS X#

Is that disk2 the reason why I cannot partition my main HD? How can I unmount or erase that disk2 Mac OS X Base system ? Click on the Erase icon in Disk Utility's main window. So I tried using Terminal to force unmount that disk, but still it doesn't let me.

how to start disk utility on mac from terminal

Alternatively, you can start up from a secondary bootable drive if you have one with Disk. I tried to unmount it or erase that disk2, but it won't let me. From here, you can choose Repair Disk for your normal startup drive. Once it’s active, click on it, then quit Disk Utility. After the Disk Utility is fully loaded, select the volume entry that holds your OS files and click on the First Aid tab (from the toolbar) and wait for the Done button to activate. As far as I know, I didn't see that disk2 in my disk list before. Accessing the Disk Utility via Recovery Menu. In Disk Utility, I found another disk called disk2 and Mac OS X Base System. But, when trying to partition, Disk Utility said that it cannot unmount the disk. I also assume you’re using macOS Internet Recovery, because wiping the drive would remove the original recovery partition on the disk. I’ve had problems with the not enough space error, and trying to erase using diskutil had much more success. So I tried to use Disk Utility to erase the startup disk and make a new partition. For Disk Utility, you can try the terminal version of it, diskutil. I tried to reinstall, but nothing came up. So, I tried to reboot again, but it said that the reinstallation failed and asked me to reinstall again. I don't have any Time Machine backups.Įverything went file, but in the middle of the installation, it got stuck, and later the installation failed without any reason. My Mac running Lion was being slow, so I was decided to reinstall OS X.









How to start disk utility on mac from terminal